SCIENTIFIC EDUCATIONAL CENTER science idea

Scientists discover new gene for circadian rhythms
2021-06-10 18:06 A team of biologists, physiologists, and neurologists has discovered an important regulatory DNA molecule that is responsible for the amplitude of circadian rhythms. So far, the study was conducted only on cultured mouse cells, but scientists are confident that a similar gene exists in humans. Circadian rhythms are 24-hour cycles that run in the background so that a person can perform basic functions. One ...
Mysterious Extinction Kills 70 Percent of Sharks on Earth
2021-06-09 11:10 Scientists have discovered a previously unknown shark mass extinction event that wiped out the global population of these marine predators about 19 million years ago. It is currently a mystery what happened to the shark population, but the authors of the study say that as a result of this event, sharks almost completely disappeared from the world's oceans. Sharks and their ancestors have been swimming ...
Blood-based Biomarker Can Detect 13 Neurodegenerative Diseases
2021-06-08 13:12 A new study published in the journal Nature Communications reports that a single blood-based biomarker can detect the presence of 13 neurodegenerative diseases, from frontotemporal dementia to motor neuron disease. The test cannot specifically distinguish between each disorder, but is instead proposed as a way to determine whether patients suffer from memory problems from the early stages of the neurodegen...
The island of stability of heavy elements has not yet been reached
2021-06-07 19:43 Theories about the possible existence of superheavy elements appeared in the 1960s. Their longest-lived cores may give rise to a so-called "island of stability" far beyond Uranus. However, a new study by nuclear physicists at Lund University shows that the 50-year-old manifesto of nuclear physics must now be revised. The heaviest element in nature is uranium, whose nucleus contains 92 protons and ...
Why the electrons don't get into the nucleus?
2021-06-06 18:19 The electrons in an atom actually get into the nucleus. In fact, the electrons in the s - states tend to peak at the nucleus. Electrons are not small balls that can fall into the nucleus under the influence of electrostatic attraction. Rather, electrons are quantized wave functions that propagate through space and can sometimes act as particles in a limited way. An electron in an atom propagates according ...
INTERVIEW Russian language of the UN, what is it?
2021-06-05 16:04 On June 6, the UN celebrates the Day of the Russian Language. The tradition of honoring the six official languages of the United Nations was born in 2010, and a year later this holiday, celebrated on the birthday of the poet Alexander Pushkin, was added to the official calendar in Russia by presidential decree. At the UN, Russian is spoken at meetings of the General Assembly and the Security Council, at con...
Scientists have measured the mass of human chromosomes for the first time
2021-06-04 12:46 A team of scientists used coherent X-rays, available on the latest synchrotron sources, to determine the mass of all 46 human chromosomes. Their weight was more than expected. Scientists from the Center for Nanotechnology at University College London (UK) and the State University of New Mexico (USA) for the first time measured the mass of chromosomes in the human body using X-rays. As described in the stud...

Certificate of registration of mass media ЭЛ № ФС 77 - 78868 issued by Roskomnadzor on 07.08.2020

Научно-образовательный центр Science Idea 

Ученые открыли новый ген циркадных ритмов
2021-06-10 18:06 Команда биологов, физиологов и неврологов обнаружила важную регуляторную молекулу ДНК, которая отвечает за амплитуду циркадных ритмов. Пока исследование проводили лишь на культивируемых клетках мыши, однако ученые уверены, что аналогичный ген есть и у человека.Циркадные ритмы — 24-часовые циклы, работающие в фоновом режиме, чтобы человек мог выполнять основные функции. Один из наиболее важных и хорошо ...
Таинственное вымирание уничтожило 70 процентов акул на Земле
2021-06-09 11:10 Ученые обнаружили ранее неизвестное событие массового вымирания акул, которое уничтожило мировую популяцию этих морских хищников около 19 миллионов лет назад. В настоящее время остается загадкой, что случилось с популяцией акул, но авторы исследования говорят, что в результате этого события акулы почти полностью исчезли из мирового океана.Акулы и их предки плавали в океанах Земли последние 450 мил...
Биомаркер на основе крови может обнаружить 13 нейродегенеративных заболеваний
2021-06-08 13:12 В новом исследовании, опубликованном в журнале Nature Communications, сообщается, что один биомаркер на основе крови может обнаружить наличие 13 нейродегенеративных заболеваний, от лобно-височной деменции до болезни двигательных нейронов.Тест не может конкретно различать каждое расстройство, но вместо этого предлагается как способ определить, страдают ли пациенты проблемами памяти от ранних стадий...
Остров стабильности тяжелых элементов оказался пока не досягаем
2021-06-07 19:43 Теории о возможном существовании сверхтяжелых элементов появились еще в 1960-х годах. Их самые долгоживущие ядра могут дать начало так называемому «острову стабильности» далеко за пределами урана. Однако новое исследование, проведенное физиками-ядерщиками из Лундского университета, показывает, что манифест ядерной физики 50-летней давности теперь должен быть пересмотрен. Самый тяжелый элемент в...
Почему электроны в атоме не попадают в ядро?
2021-06-06 18:19 Электроны в атоме действительно попадают в ядро. Фактически, электроны в s- состояниях стремятся достичь пика на ядре. Электроны – это не маленькие шарики, которые могут упасть в ядро ​​под действием электростатического притяжения. Скорее, электроны – это квантованные волновые функции, которые распространяются в пространстве и иногда могут действовать как ча...
ИНТЕРВЬЮ Русский язык ООН, какой он?
2021-06-05 16:04 6 июня в ООН отмечают День русского языка. Традиция чествовать шесть официальных языков ООН зародилась в 2010 году, а год спустя этот праздник, отмечаемый в день рождения поэта Александра Пушкина, указом президента был добавлен и в официальный календарь в России.  В ООН русский язык звучит на заседаниях Генеральной Ассамблеи и Совета Безопасности, на конференциях и переговорах, в миротворческих и ...
Ученые впервые измерили массу хромосом человека
2021-06-04 12:46 Коллектив ученых использовал когерентное рентгеновское излучение, доступное на новейших синхротронных источниках, чтобы установить массу всех 46 хромосом человека. Их вес оказался больше, чем ожидалось.                Ученые из Центра нанотехнологий при Университетском колледже Лондона (Великобритания) и Государственного университета Нью-Мексико (США) впервые изм...

Свидетельство о регистрации средства массовой информации ЭЛ № ФС 77 - 78868 выдано Роскомнадзором 07.08.2020